Photo credit: Jordan Veenstra

Health Research Ethics Board

The HREB is appointed by the HREA to conduct research ethics reviews in the province. The HREA has registered its HREB with the Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) for Federal wide Assurance (FWA) purposes. In Newfoundland and Labrador, if your institution or organization has an OHRP – approved FWA, then you must designate the HREB as an affiliated external HREB.

The identification information for the HREB is: IRB00011348 – Health Research Ethics Authority. This registration is listed on the OHRP website.

Membership of the HREB (PDF)

Content Experts

Fabien Basset

Thomas Belbin

Debra Bergstrom (Chairperson)

Emily Bonnell

Renee Crossman

Peter Daley (Chairperson)

Georgia Darmonkow

Christopher Earle

Sulaimon Giwa

Diana Gustafson

Kyla Huebner

Kathy Hodgkinson

Jo-Anna Hudson

Francis Ikpatt

Liam Kelly

Joy Maddigan (Chairperson)

Kimberley Manning

Robert Mercer (Chairperson)

Naomi Mifflen-Anderson

Shree Mulay

Darren O’Rielly

Natasha Pardy

Archna Shah

John Shik

Nicole Snow

Terry-Lynn Young

Community Representatives

Donald Haynes

Lisa Charlong-Norris

Gerard McDonald

LeeAnn Montgomery

Mark Ploughman

Caroline O’Keefe


Timothy Brennan

Fern Brunger (Chairperson)

Chris Kaposy

Daryl Pullman

Legal Representatives

Allison Conway

Annette Conway

Jane Crosbie

Leah Gruchy

John O’Dea

Natalie Payne

HREB Terms of Reference

HREB 2020 – 2021 Annual Report

Members of the HREA Appeal Panel (PDF)

Last modified: June 3, 2024